Who We Are

Affiliated Network for Social Accountability in East Asia and the Pacific (ANSA-EAP) Foundation, Inc. hosts and implements the CheckMySchool initiative with support from the Open Society Foundation. It is a non-stock, non-profit corporation registered under the Philippine law.


The ANSA-EAP promotes social accountability in the region by providing networking and learning facilities. By social accountability, it refers to the process of constructive engagement between citizens and government for the monitoring of the use of public resources. It aims to improve the delivery of public services, promote community welfare and protect people’s rights.

CMS Staff

Redempto S. Parafina

Project Manager, CheckMySchool (CMS)


Redempto S. Parafina, or Dondon, is the Executive Director of the Affiliated Network for Social Accountability in East Asia and the Pacific (ANSA-EAP) Foundation, Inc. As an international development practitioner, he has recognized track record in civil society networking, capacity building and advancing innovations in citizen participation in governance. With over fourteen years of experience, he is consulted on the technical application of social accountability in various fields and sectors, such as education, health, public procurement, ICT, youth/children, among others. His work has spanned the Philippines and various East Asian countries. He is also a Senior Associate at the Ateneo de Manila University’s School of Government, where he has spearheaded various projects. He is a graduate student of philosophy, a boy scout and a dragonboat paddler.

James Nigel Panganiban

Networking Coordinator, CheckMySchool (CMS)


James Nigel C. Panganiban is the Networking Coordinator of CMS. He graduated from the University of the Philippines Diliman in 2014 with a degree in BA Political Science. He likes discussing topics in international relations and has a keen interest in the story of conflicts in the 20th century ranging from the Second World War to the Vietnam War.

Wilson C. Villones

Research Coordinator, CheckMySchool (CMS)


Wilson Villones is a research coordinator of the Affiliated Network for Social Accountability in East Asia and the Pacific. He has worked on a variety of projects relating to CheckMySchool. More recently, his works focused on citizen engagement, civic technology, issue resolution, accountability mapping and open data. Mr. Villones is also working as a writer for the University of the Philippines System Committee on Public Service Monitoring and Reporting. He is currently writing his thesis for his master’s degree at the University of the Philippines, where he also earned his bachelor’s degree in Philosophy (magna cum laude).

Darlene P. Motil

Communications Associate, CheckMySchool (CMS)


Darlene Motil works as Communications Associate at CMS. She writes and publishes contents on websites and the social media; she also does graphic designs. She has a degree in Communication from Ateneo de Naga University.

Yliza Krizelle Olaso

Administrative Associate, CheckMySchool (CMS)


Yliza Olaso works as Administrative Associate at CMS. She graduated from Far Eastern University with a Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in June 2017. She has always been interested in education and aspires to contribute to the development of the education system in the Philippines.

Previous CMS Staff

1. Christine Cruz – Communications Associate

2. Erica Cabanilla – Administrative Associate

3. Gladys Honey Selosa – Operations Manager

4. Jan Carlo de Leon – Technical Unit Coordinator

5. Jecel Censoro – Project Manager

6. John Aldrich Telebrico – Research Coordinator

7. Karl Mikel Pregon – Networking Coordinator

8. Maria Gabriela L. Alegre – Communications Coordinator

9. Paul Thomas Villanueva – Learning and Knowledge Management Coordinator

10. Rodolfo Lahoy Jr. – Research Associate

11. Sigrid Jan Sibug – Project Associate

12. Athena Gabrielle Abanto – Communications Coordinator

13. Hannah Althea Estipona – Research, Knowledge and Learning Coordinator
14. Vincent Romero – Sustainability Coordinator
15. Brenda Jane D. Pureza – Communications Coordinator
16. Sandra Laureano – Administrative and Communications Associate

CMS Local Chapters

CheckMySchool currently has  7 partner civil society organizations operating in 58 areas in Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao. With the aid of volunteers, they are helping address issues in 893 schools all over the country.




    INFORMATION *WHEN SELECTED, Information appears


  • Areas Covered: Angono, Cardona, Morong, Teresa
  • Area Coordinators: Rizal – Emily Matias, Melisa Reyes
  • Areas Covered: Urdaneta, Mangaldan, Mapandan
  • Area Coordinators: Pangasinan – Arlene Ching
  • Organizational Partners: Responsible Citizens, Empowered Communities and Solidarity towards Social Change (RECITE)
  • Areas Covered: Buenavista, Sibunag, Nueva Valencia, San Lorenzo, Jordan
  • Area Coordinators: Buena Vista – Agustin Zamora; Jordan – Benito Tagcay; Nueva Valencia – Ana Villanueva; San Lorenzo – Melchor Villarna; Sibunag – Nimfa Gasangan
  • Organizational Partners: Guimaras People’s Economic Foundation Inc.
  • Areas Covered: Bacolod City
  • Area Coordinators: Bacolod City – Richelle Verdeprado
  • Areas Covered: Banga, Malinao, Numancia, Kalibo
  • Area Coordinators: Aklan – Emelina Fernandez
  • Organizational Partners: Archbishop Gabriel M. Reyes Memorial Foundation, Inc.
  • Areas Covered: Calinog
  • Area Coordinators: Mary Grace dela Cruz, Claire Hope Legario
  • Organizational Partners: One Calinog Organization, Inc.
  • Areas Covered: Aleosan, Carmen, Kabacan, Kidapawan City, Midsayap, Libungan
  • Area Coordinators: Aleosan – Roy John Bauzon; Carmen & Kabacan – Mary Jo Astrologo; Kidapawan City – Merry Christ Enad; Midsayap – Ramel Palapo; Libungan – Jazel Talha
  • Organizational Partners: ARAL PINOY Foundation/CheckMySchool Mindanao, Inc.
  • Areas Covered: Datu Paglas, Sharrif Aguak, Cotabato City
  • Area Coordinators: Datu Paglas – Hamzar Abubacar; Shariff Aguak – Emerson Moniva; Cotabato City – Sittie Sarah Abubakar
  • Organizational Partners: ARAL PINOY Foundation/CheckMySchool Mindanao, Inc.
  • Areas Covered: Labangan, Tukuran
  • Area Coordinators: Labangan & Tukuran – Pahad W. Abbas
  • Organizational Partners: ARAL PINOY Foundation/CheckMySchool Mindanao, Inc.
  • Areas Covered: Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Area Coordinators: Edgar Alegre
  • Organizational Partners: Global Academy Institute of Technology Foundation Inc.(GAITF)
  • Areas Covered: Cagayan de Oro City
  • Area Coordinators: Cagayan de Oro – Jonathan Mongcal
  • Organizational Partners: GROUP Foundation


agmrmfi-logo recite-logo one-calinog-logo gpefi-logo